DIY Farmhouse Kitchen Sign

Let me start by saying Joanna Gaines is definitely an idol of mine! I can’t get enough of her and her husband’s show, Fixer Upper. In the meantime, while I (not so patiently) wait for their fourth season to air, I have decided to take up some of my own DIY projects.

We just painted our cupboard from plywood orangey-brown to white with turquois doors. What a difference it has made in brightening up our kitchen! I figured this was a perfect opportunity to find out what color we want for cabinets, so when the time comes to gut the kitchen out and say hello to our dream kitchen, we will be ready!

This weekend I decided to make a farmhouse sign to put above my sink in the kitchen.

image img_6635

What you’ll need:

  • A piece of plywood (what ever size you’d like)
  • Black acrylic paint
  • A small to medium size paint brush
  • Sand paper
  • Pencil
  • Paper towel or cloth
  • Paper plate 

What you do:

  • Find the font you like (I used Word) and print it out what you want your sign to say  (adjust the size according to the size of your plywood)
  • Cut out each letter to use as a stencil and trace with a pencil
  • Fill in the letters with the black acrylic paint and let it dry
  • Once it’s completely dry use the sand paper to lightly go over the letters
  • Use the cloth or paper towel and wipe it down

Voila!! There you have your beautiful country farmhouse sign.

Hang and ENJOY!

img_6636

**note: I did try to use a permanent marker and an oil based one to outline and…as expected, it did bleed. I used the acrylic paint for the rest of the outlining**

xxo

blogending

4 thoughts on “DIY Farmhouse Kitchen Sign

    • fitmumlife says:

      Thank you so much! When we bought the house they were an orange tinted plywood…I had to do something to brighten up the kitchen! πŸ™‚ Can’t go wrong with a pop of teal πŸ˜‰ I love following along with your remodeling!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

